The Cherokee County Attorney’s Office offers concealed carry classes free of charge to residents of Cherokee County who are eligible for a license. Nonresidents may apply, and if space permits, may attend the class for a $100 fee. Space is limited to maintain the safest possible rand conditions. Eligible applicants will be accepted in the order their completed application was received.
The 8-hour class includes classroom training, a written examination, and range qualifying. The classroom portion of the training will be held at the Cherokee County Courthouse (Room 34). The range qualifying will be held at the Cherokee County Sportmen’s Club.
Investigator Josh Whitely, a certified CCW instructor and experienced law enforcement officer, will lead each class. Investigator Whitely will educate attendees on the Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act, Kansas laws regarding use of deadly force, and basic firearm handling and safety.
To apply, complete the application below. Don’t forget to include a copy of your valid Kansas Driver’s License or other proof of residency. Dates will be posted on this site as classes are scheduled.
Upcoming Class Dates
June 12, 2021
August 14, 2021
October 9, 2021
November 13, 2021